Donald Glover (a.k.a. Childish Gambino) in Boise

21Apr11

Last night, I was hanging around at home when I see that Donald Glover tweeted out (I follow him on Twitter) that he and his band had stopped in Boise on their way through and wondered if people would be interested in seeing them do a short set. He announced that he was at Chandler’s Steakhouse and would be starting a set at 11:00 P.M.

So, I get dressed and drive to DT Boise as quickly as possible. Some of my friends were already there, so I pull up a chair and we hang around. Before too long, the band sets up and they start playing. It was a short 6 or 7 song set. The highlight of the set was the final song which he freestyled. The drummer asked Donald what he wanted, and he started beatboxing a beat, and the band just joins in. Donald then drops an awesome freestyle. Afterword, I got the chance to to say Hi and tell him that it was awesome.

I love that this happened. This is exactly what makes Twitter such an awesome social tool. Before I had Twitter, I would never have noticed that something like this was happening.

No Responses Yet to “Donald Glover (a.k.a. Childish Gambino) in Boise”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

